presenting: the first game art

Limbo, and 'The Castle of the Famed'

Limbo, and 'The Castle of the Famed'

Actually, it’s not finished yet, as you can tell. I still need to tidy it up, expand the central building behind the arch, colorize the right hand side, adjust contrasts, simplify the parts that can be simplified, then filter it so it fits in with the rest of the game (particularly the minimalist characters).

Unfortunately WordPress squashed the image – its supposed to bigger, so you can see more detail. And in the game you won’t see the left hand and right hand segments together – that just looks wrong.

The scene shows Limbo (on the left) and the Castle of the Famed (on the right, where noble pagans go when they die). After passing the castle, our hero goes downwards (across the moat to the right) and enters the First Circle of Hell.

I’ve made Limbo a bit prettier than usual, for reasons that will become apparent in the game. And also because I intend for this game to link to other underground worlds in future stories. I’ve always been interested in underground worlds, so expect to come back here in future games. This is one of the two most complex scenes in the game (the other being the final scene, Empyrean).  Other scenes won’t take as long to make. (But I didn’t just do this today, in case you think I’ve been slacking. I was also organizing art for each of the other scenes.)

Another Dante pic tomorrow.

2 responses to “presenting: the first game art

  1. Wow, these are stunning! This makes me very excited for the game… love the artwork! Did you do these yourself??

  2. All the art is based on either classic paintings or photos. I just put them together and change them a bit. This background is based on five paintings and a photo (the photo is the building at the bottom, the one where you’re looking down on the roof. The photo is a Creative Commons work, so I’ll need to contact the photographer just to make sure he’s OK with me using it. i’m sure he will be.

    Originally I intended to base every image on Gustave Dore’s famous illustrations – if you’ve ever seen old pictures of Dante’s Inferno it’s probably Dore’s pictures that you saw. But Dore’s stuff isn’t always suitable, for various reasons that I’ll probably blog about later. So probably a third to a half of the backgrounds in the game will be based on Dore’s stuff, and the rest are based on other art.

Leave a comment